| Blog

What are the 10 Essential Health Benefits?

Written by: PeopleKeep Team
November 28, 2014 at 12:00 PM

The Affordable Care Act requires that health plans offered in the individual and small group markets, both inside and outside of Health Insurance Marketplaces, offer a core package of items and services, known as "essential health benefits."Ten essential health benefits

What are Essential Health Benefits?

Essential health benefits are a minimum package of ten items and services that must be covered by all plans in the individual and small group market. This includes health plans offered on the Health Insurance Marketplaces. 

What are the 10 Essential Health Benefits?

  1. Ambulatory patient services

  2. Emergency services

  3. Hospitalization

  4. Maternity and newborn care

  5. Mental health and substance use disorder services, including behavioral health treatment

  6. Prescription drugs

  7. Rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices

  8. Laboratory services

  9. Preventive and wellness services and chronic disease management

  10. Pediatric services, including oral and vision care

For more detailed information on essential health benefits, click here

Questions about the ten essential health benefits? Leave a comment below.

Topics: Affordable Care Act

Additional Resources

Trying to decide which HRA is best for you? Take our quiz to find out.
Get our guide on how to offer health benefits with a small budget.